Example Fencing Moved



VFA fencers compete regularly in Vermont and beyond.  To see the schedule of upcoming Green Mt. Division events (and to register for them), go to AskFred.net.   Click on "Upcoming Tournaments."  From the "All Divisions" drop-down menu, select "Green Mountain" and click the "Find Tournaments" button.



While the king's musketeers were swashbuckling their way across France, their even more adventurous compatriots, among them Samuel de Champlain, were exploring the vast wilderness empire of New France. To celebrate our connection with that colorful era in history, and to create a Vermont fencing league dedicated to the ideals of amateur athletic competition for fun, camaraderie and personal satisfaction, in 1999 the Vermont Fencing Alliance established a perpetual cup to honor the mightiest swordsmen and women on Vermont soil. Beginning in 2002, the cup series was taken over by the Green Mountain Division. Out-of-staters are very welcome to join us in friendly rivalry and compete for the cup.


Here's how it works: Champlain Cup points may be earned at all Green Mountain Division meets, all season long. You earn 1 point for every event you participate in. You earn additional points for high placement, provided there are at least 6 people entered in your event (no placement points will be given for events with fewer than 6 entries, so get your friends to turn out for meets!). Points earned will be based on the difficulty level of the event as follows (note changes since last season in order to give more scoring opportunities to tougher tournaments):


For the following categories of open events, the top 80% of the field earn bonus points. Each place earns one bonus point less than the next higher place. First place bonus depends on the strength of the field as follows:


    • A4, A3, B3, A2/B3 event: 32 points
    • A2, B2, C2, A2/C3, B2/C3: 24 points
    • B1: 20 points
    • C1, C2 : 16 points
    • D1: 12 points
    • E1: 6 points


For restricted events (not mixed opens), the bonus point awards are as follows:

  • Restricted (GMD only), age group, team or gender-specific event with 15+ fencers (or teams): 4 points
  • Restricted, age group, team or gender-specific event with 6-14 fencers (or teams): 2 points
  • D event: 4 points if 6-14 fencers, 5 if 15+ fencers
  • E or U event: 2 points if 6-14 fencers, 3 if 15+ fencers


Grand prize: the leaders at the end of the season in each weapon will each have their names engraved on a perpetual cup (to be displayed at all Champlain Cup meets the next season). In addition, each receives a trophy. The person who scores the most combined points across all 3 weapons receives custodianship of the Champlain Cup Leader's Sword (a beautiful replica rapier) for the season, but must pass it on to the next season's winner.


Other awards (trophies presented at the end of each season): 2nd and 3rd place overall in each weapon, best veteran (age 40+), best youth (Y12 age group-age 12-), "rookie of the year" (best finish for a fencer with less than 2 years total experience, first full season in league), Leaders Sword (most total points across all weapons).

Champlain Cup winners so far (* denotes a VFA fencer):


Foil:  Noble Clark*

Epee:  Royal Clark*



Foil:  Noble Clark*

Epee:  Royal Clark*



Foil:  Alexander Vandenburg-Rodes*

Epee:  Dylan Merriam*



Foil: Elijah Grubb*

Epee:  Dylan Merriam*

Sabre:  Brad Baker



Foil:  Peter Toshev

Epee:  Mason Merriam*

Sabre:  Sam Dupre



Foil:  Luke Clemmons*

Epee:  Luke Clemmons*

Sabre:  Chris Knapp



Foil:  Joanna Flynn*

Epee:  Adam Watson

Sabre:  Lucas Lermontov-Salmon



Foil:  Ben Hogan*

Epee:  Doug Woos*

Sabre:  Lucas Lermontov-Salmon



Foil:  Ben Hogan*

Epee:  Wyatt Moreton*

Sabre:  Lucas Lermontov-Salmon



Foil-Ben Hogan*

Epee-Wyatt Moreton*

Sabre-David Parker*



Foil-Ben Hogan*

Epee-Peter Horak

Sabre-Lucas Lermontov-Salmon



Foil:  David Parker*

Epee:  Zac Young*

Sabre:  David Parker*



Foil:  Ethan Yu*

Epee:  David Parker

Sabre:  David Parker



Foil:  Ethan Yu*

Epee:  Ethan Yu*

Sabre:  David Parker



Foil:  Jack Brisson*

Epee:  David Horak

Sabre:  David Harris



Foil:  Jack Brisson*

Epee:  Jack Brisson*

Sabre:  Ray Schuppe*



Foil:  Jack Brisson

Epee:  Jack Brisson

Sabre:  Charlie D'Souza



Foil:  David Horak

Epee:  David Horak

Sabre:  Scott Brookes



Foil:  Andrew Simon

Epee:  Birk Rivait

Sabre:  Charlie D'Souza